CSA Complaint Letter to Judy Cass

Here is my long awaited response to the incompetent Judy Cass of the Child Support Agency. This has also been sent to my local MP, Paul Goggins.

Hopefully this will get the message across, otherwise we’ll just have to call it quits 🙁

—————————————–

Judi Cass
Senior Complaints Resolution Manager
North West Area
Child Support Agency
Birkenhead
2 Weston Road
Crewe
CW98 1BB
July 4th 2008

CSA/33768 / Judy Cass
REF: 320527668885/JE908832A

Dear Judi, thanks ever so much for your letter than once again ignored all of the facts and completely missed the point that I am making. I shall endeavour, for one last time, to make you understand what seems so simple to me and many others, yet seems completely alien to yourself and the people at the CSA.

Thank you for apologising unreservedly, though I feel your apology was somehow false due to the fact that you followed it up with ‘if you feel you have not received the service you have a right to expect when we failed to reserve your calls’, this suggests to me that you do not feel that way, therefore there was little point in you apologising.

You went onto say that you cannot comment on what I was advised back in March 2007 by my caseworker Steve Gibson as you cannot retrieve the call. Fear not, for as you know I record ALL of my phone calls, thus I am able to retrieve the call. I will be adding this, and all of my correspondence with the CSA on the Internet in due time.

Perhaps you are suggesting I am lying when I said that Steve Gibson advised me to file a variations form for my rented accommodation to do with my working in Manchester when my children lived in Cwmbran? Then of course Nicky Taylor explained in December how I couldn’t have claimed for that at all, as the rules had changed in 2003.

This means that either Steve Gibson was incompetent, or he was lying. Whichever the reason, it has left me paying for your error. I should have course been advised to claim for the mortgage payments I was making on behalf of Mrs Jamieson. The payments I had been making since long before you first contacted me in January 2007, when I spoke to Shelly Ducore from your office. She assured me that Steve Gibson would contact me the very next day, as I could not pay what you had requested. It then took Steve Gibson nearly 3 months, and numerous phone calls from myself before he bothered to call, and when he did, he lied to me.

A catalogue of mistakes from the CSA that would only get worse.

As for your other comments, I already replied to Mrs Jamieson’s objections last year, but for some reason you have not acknowledged my reply, nor indeed has anyone at the CSA. You seem to wash over it as though I never replied. I will try once again to make you understand these most simple of facts.

Mrs Jamieson claimed that I made the journey to Wales not just to visit my children, but for work reasons and to stay in a house that I owned. I did not visit for work, I work in Manchester. If you believe I travel back to Wales to work please prove this in some way. I do not work in Wales and have not worked there since March 2nd 2007. She is lying and you have taken her lies as fact, without evidence.

If you would like to contact my employer to query this, please do so with my blessing.

I would also like to add, once again, that I did not choose to make the journey even though I wasn’t having access to my children. I continued to make the journey for several weeks, even though my ex was not showing up with my children. It was still the understanding that I would see my children; hence I travelled the 400 mile round trip to Cwmbran. The fact that my ex-wife didn’t bother to show up, nor did she bother to even let me know she didn’t plan to attend, wasn’t under my control.

Of course the fact that the CSA tells the parent with care that she’ll get more money if her ex doesn’t see his children doesn’t in any way help matters. Perhaps you should look at that policy? Her being financially rewarded by you for not showing up, when I have driven 200 miles to see my children, forcing me to turn around and drive 200 miles back doesn’t help to keep children in touch with their fathers.

But of course that’s not what the CSA is about is it? You aren’t interested in what is best for the children, you just want the pounds in the bank.

I also did not own a house near my ex wife and her children. We both jointly owned a house that neither of us lived in as she chose to move out. I live in Manchester. The property in Wales is the property that I continued to pay the mortgage for, for her, so that it wasn’t repossessed. I can prove that the mortgage was paid, in full. I have bank statements and a final mortgage statement when the mortgage was settled by me. The payments were frozen in July, and then settled when ownership of the house was transferred in January 2008. I refused to send any of these documents to you as you had already proved yourself incompetent. You had lost my letters, failed to return phone calls and sent confidential information to a completely different address despite having the correct address on the screen in front of you.

No, I was not prepared to send you original documents. I can photocopy documents if you wish, or maybe fax them. I will not post them. You will lose them, perhaps intentionally.

I would like to reference your own website, on this page: http://csa.gov.uk/en/setup/other-financial-commitments.asp

I believe these two points refer to my situation as I have described it:

  • keeping in contact with your children (for example, if the parent with care has moved a long way away).
  • making payments on a mortgage, loan or insurance policy to pay off a mortgage or loan on the home that you and the parent with care used to share.

In addition to these points Mrs Jamieson also claimed that I owned a Hyundai Coupe. I have never owned a Hyundai Coupe, and am not paying a car loan for any vehicle. If you claim that I am, please prove it.

Even if I were, how would that be relevant?

I am paying a bank loan, which was originally for Mrs Jamieson’s Toyota Landcruiser and my cheaper BMW Z3. Her Landcruiser was sold and approximately £4,000 of the money was used to buy her Honda Civic. I am still paying the loan, which was for her car and mine. This loan, which costs me £190.51 per month, has been paid be me since before your initial contact. I mentioned it when I phoned up in January 2007, to Steve Gibson when he eventually bothered to make contact, in both variations forms and every time I call you.

Yet you still ignore it.

I refer again to your own website and quote:

  • paying back a debt that you took on before you separated from the parent with care, and the debt was for the benefit of the family or a member of the family.

This obviously refers to the loan I am paying. Why do you continue to ignore its existence? Where do you think the money for the £16,000 Landcruiser came from in the first place?

Then we move on to your threats of:

Should you fail to respond within 14 days we reserve the right to consider further action

This of course is regarding my website and the various videos I have uploaded. Firstly, my website is www.mrdaz.com (not www.mrsdaz.com). If you intend to threaten someone to remove content from a website, giving them a 14 day notice period, you’ll need to get the domain name correct or it’s a useless threat. By the same token, the video website is called www.YouTube.com, not ‘u tube’.

Furthermore I will not be removing any content as I have a legal right to publicise my dealings with the Child Support Agency. All of my recorded conversations are in the public interest due to the mistakes and incompetence that you have demonstrated.

I trust I have made my position clear on that matter, and to further emphasise my intentions I will be adding further phone calls to my website, YouTube, Face Book and various other websites as I see fit. I have every conversation with the CSA recorded, so can prove all that I claim and am prepared to publish the content.

So, for the last time this is what you need to do.

Take into consideration the bank loan that I am paying off, for my car and Mrs Jamieson’s car, which I have been paying since the start of this claim. The amount is £190.51. It currently stands at £3513.15 because I have made some large repayments recently. It was much higher. I’d suggest 50% of the loan repayments to be deducted in lieu of maintenance payments, dated back to the date of the claim.

Secondly take into consideration my travel expenses for seeing my children. It is not my fault that my ex-wife failed to show up, without warning.

Finally take into consideration the mortgage payments I have made, from January 2007 for our jointly owned house, which neither of us lived in.

These variations should be backdated to January 2007 when I first made contact as it was your negligence that meant Steve Gibson never returned my call until March, meaning my variations form was not sent to you until April. It should have been with you in January had your staff acted appropriately. It would also have had the correct information had Steve Gibson not advised me incorrectly.

I trust I have made everything as clear as it can possibly be, for I cannot continue working in my full time job with the DOE that you have imposed upon me. I will have no option but to quit my job within the next 6 weeks should you fail to act accordingly.

A copy of this letter has been sent to Martin Connor of the CSA and Paul Goggins, my local MP.

Regards

Darren Jamieson

Darren Jamieson, aka MrDaz, is the Technical Director and co-founder of Engage Web and has been working online in a career spanning two decades. His first website was built in 1998 and is still live today.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ 

16 thoughts on “CSA Complaint Letter to Judy Cass”

  1. I hope they finaly listen there a fucking joke these people clearly no clue at all. they wonder why the csa gets a bad rep its shit like this i heard another laugh of a story the other day.

    The csa cant actually control there own computer system.
    a woman was expecting money from the csa that had been paid to them and was sitting in there accounts but because the computer system had put it on “drip feed” she was only getting 70p a week out of something along the lines of 400 quid a month rofl.

    And there answer they cant do anything computers deciding what people do im sorry does this sound like a sci fi robot taking over the people style film to you or what ie. irobot terminator ect

    What a joke

  2. oh by the way id recommend sending a full copy of all this information to watchdog at the bbc

    They have ongoing spat with the csa and there more than happy to see all the fuck ups there capable off it makes good television.

  3. Hi I’ve been having similar problems with this inept organisation, been a victim for the last 12 years.

    They recently wrote to me claiming I’d missed a payment of £100 and I had to contact them so they could take payment!!

    Amazing really I’ve been paying by DEO so can’t understand where this fictional payment has come from.

    Like yourself I have written to my local m.p – Paul Goggins, who has helped me in the past with the CSA.

    So far I’ve been contacted by four individuals messing with this alleged arrears, they would make good boxer’s the way they duck and dive and cover each others backs!!

    Good luck with your case, if you don’t get anywhere you could always contact the man at the top!!

    Stephen.Geraghty@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

  4. My husband has received a letter today from csa, this case has been ongoing for many years but they will not believe my husband that he has made the payment direct to his ex wife, we have now got a bill for £18,000, they want 40% of his wages, this will mean we will not be able to live. They are forcing him to give up his job and us to give up our home. No-one will listen to us

  5. 5 weeks ago after not hearing from the csa for 4 years (they had my address wrong) i had an attach of earnings sprung on me for 40% of my wages.my son is 18 and since my split with his mother some 15 yrs ago ,i have always paid maintenance directly to her.i have spoken to 4 different people already and seem to be getting nowhere.i am being sent from pillar to post and cannot even get a name of someone in charge that i can write to..i am at my wits end,my rent is late and because i drive 25 miles to work each day ,the fuel costs arent helping.i would be better off giving up work,as i am in fact worse off at the moment. no one seems to give a shit at the csa. how the hell they think i can loose £113 a week and still get by ,i dont know. im at my wits end aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagh

  6. i also have had and still am having a todo with the csa .
    for years i paid in cash and in 2006 i took my daughter who was 8 at the time to ozz,new zealand and tasmania for two and a half months.before i left i gave the mother 800 pounds and said get courtneys uniform and any other stuff she will need when we get back,i know 800 pound would be more than more than enough,however when we got back after two and a half months i got a phone call the next day for money for school shoes,i was not happy at this point i didnt have a job untill 3 months later.like a sucker i kept giving her money untill she was always demanding more.in nov 2008 i got intouch with the csa to put all of this to an end.thats where they told me that i was in 2000 pounds arrears,i was gob smacked,they took the mothers word that i didnt give her a penny.i mentioned the 800 pound and was told that i needed proof,so i gave them the bank statment and they ruled it out saying that the mother has said that i gave it her because i owed her money.well they needed proof off me but yet they take the mothers word for it.my net pay is 300 pound per week but yet the csa take out 116 pound per week HOW CAN I LIVE………………………………………….this has made me ill and at my wits end i dont know who to turn to or what to do atall.the csa are lyers and cheats and are very incompatent people who all have a differant way of protocall.what a joke,you also can get a name so you can write to them and noone will take blame….i think some of these people should do jail for all the lies

  7. Im absolutely gobsmacked at how the CSA is unfit for purpose. Child Support? If my ex wife gets what she wants, the joint home will be reposessed and we will both be bankrupt … all because the CSA wont listen to reason. The courts need to regain the ‘real world’ element of these decisions .. the judge needs to over rule the amounts being taken by the CSA.
    My wife left me for another man who is 8 years younger than her (hes 22) and took my 3 children, she is dictating to me me when i will see my children and is fully aware of the financial gains through the CSA. This is not in the interests of the children. I think the CSA policy doesnt run true with the ‘Every Child Matters’ legislation. Who passed the powers to the CSA? Thy need bloody shooting they really do … the system supports greed and manipulation, it doesnt support the children …. not fit for purpose, which upsets me as all i want to do is support my children and be there for them.

  8. The “CRAP SECRET AGENTS” would appear to be getting ready to take money direct from my new employers and claim that they do not even have to tell me what they are about to do!!!!!!
    Is this not classed as theft?
    My ex swears blind that she did not make a claim from the CSA and their own records show that an agreement NOT to involve the CSA was the last instruction she gave them
    They claim that they can not give me her address as that would be a breach of data protection!
    In the same call the girl who rang me on my mobile then wanted me to give HER my ex`s mobile because they had been trying to “contact her but were unable to do so”
    She wanted me to contact my ex PARTNER TO CONTACT THEM FOR FURTHER ACTION TO BE TAKEN AGAINST ME!!!!!!!!!!!!
    WHAT THE F`ING HELL ARE THEY TALKING ABOUT!!!!
    I have had no dealings with the CSA and nor has my ex according to her and her new boyfriend!!!
    I was made redundant in Feb and started claiming JSA and that is how the CSA got hold of me!
    I was claiming £65 per week and the CSA were going to take £35 a week until I told then what they could do with there claim!
    My Son stays with me for three nights a week and the most they could claim was £5 a week!
    My question for the CSA if they take money from my account to pay to a mother that has not asked for it and does not get that money………..then some one in the CSA has stolen my Sons money.
    Legal proceedings will be started!
    M J C

  9. can only agree,its hard to speak of thease people without swearing . A seemingly faceless “disorganisation” without a clear complaints procedure,If this were a private business it would have gone bust long long ago.Apart from all the iterested parties it must be the general taxpeyer who is paying excess money for their incompetence.

  10. To Mr Daz,
    and all out there following your fight with the CSA.
    After getting my MP involved with our dear friends at the CSA you may be interested in the following.
    The CSA admit that they failed to contact me back in 2007.
    Tafterftre writing to the CEO, who passed it on to Jim Edwards who still has not written a reply to me or mySummonsmmuns to court was put on hold to be transfered to my Local court in Essex.
    Advised to put in a variation which I have been trying to do and the CSA apologieslogise for their own failure and now insist that the Arrears that they built up by failing to contact me must be paid alegallylegaly owed by me.
    Got a enforcementrcemant notice same as the first informing me once again going to be taken to court for non payment of outstanding amount and in the notice of court action…..THEY DID NOT EVEN GET MY SON`s NAME correct!!!! got a letter of apology the next day from the woman that I had a fight with on the phone the day before proapologizingogising for HER ERROR and that JIM EDWARDS will be writingseparateeperate cover… I then got a call from someone called Alex in the Belfast office saying that I WILL NOTWRITTEN RESPONSEESPONCE FROM JIM EDWARDS! and that he rang me regarding my phone complaint……I have made so many complaints I have now lost count…MY MP has contacted the CSA, written writen to the CSA, MY solicitwritten writen the CSA, I have madecomplaintsmplaits via there OWN WEB SITE and yet even though the CSA have now confirmed in writing fromdifferentiferent people that the CSA made the mistake thstill stiill hounding me on the phoinsistd isist I WILL PAY WHAT THEY SAY I OWE!!! I also pointed out to these people that they had taken £35 from my JSA when all they can take was £5 further investigation by me and I find that the said £35 was taken out and then replaced on the same day! I can only assume that this was to foul any magistrate that I had started paying the CSA to shift the blame on to me!………I am now under the care of a mental health team all because of the CSA and their continuing threats and intimidation not to mention discrimination and their violation of EU HUMAN WRIGHTS sorry for anspellingspeling and good fortune to all who are having to deal with this bunch of **************
    M J C.

  11. Incompetence. Confidential details of in individual have just been faxed to me. Obviously breeching data protection laws. I now know an individuals NI number, DOB, Name, Address, place of work.

    Have all the special needs and mentally challenged people been coralled into the same office and let loose.

    The mind boggles

  12. this is exactly the problem i have and i myself have just finished ANOTHER 4 page letter detailing their ineptitude.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *